Learning to Write in Public

This lady was on Freshly Pressed today and deservedly so. But I am reblogging this post of hers today as I feel she crawled inside my head and wrote what she saw there. Is it just me or do these words resonate with all of us bloggers? Emma

Image

Writing is a delicate business. On one hand, it’s a very private act—a solitary pursuit that requires the writer to crawl inside their brain and camp out there for a while. To stew in their own juices while an idea comes to fruition. On the other hand, it’s a public act—an act of creation meant for an audience. A writer writes so that someone will read it. There’s a strange dichotomy at play from the beginning. It is a private act for the public art. 

I’m sure it plays out differently for every writer, but for me, writing is very much a lonely endeavor. Not in the bad way, necessarily, although I find I write more when I spend a lot of time alone with my brain. When I have no one else to talk to, I suppose my brain talks to itself. Usually, I have an idea paddling about…

View original post 739 more words

3 thoughts on “Learning to Write in Public

  1. It’s funny. The writer in me relates perfectly but the reader in me thinks, ‘not another piece about writing; what’s next, something about writer’s block?’

    I do often question my motives. I’m always telling myself that I am exploring an idea for myself, or just to see how a video or a song idea will pan out, but no matter how it comes out when I’m done I turn into an exhibitionist and am anxious for reaction. And then I lie to myself and think that I don’t care how people react.

    It’s a very weird dynamic. The bottom line is that if we didn’t care about people’s reaction and interaction then we wouldn’t post or show our results to anyone.

    [Gonna go back and post this on the original.]

    • You’re funny! Exhibitionist 🙂 I love reading others’ takes on writing (obviously) even on writer’s block and yes I also care if I get likes and comments, for a short while. I don’t stalk my stats any more (would be depressing anyway). If a post doesn’t seem to go down well I am soon over it though I might reread it and work out why. But I move on quickly. That’s the beauty of a short memory and a new day. It’s just so great to be able to put it out there and get feedback.

      • After I post something I read or watch or listen to it over and over with a critical eye the next day examining what did and didn’t work (for me) and how I might do better the next time. It seems to me that until I have something new to try I no longer want to do it; I don’t want blogging to be a job but rather an adventure. I can do the daily grind but it has stopped being fun.

        Thanks for saying I’m funny! Sometimes my sense of humor is so dry that people don’t get me.

Comments are closed.