Le Tweak, C’est Chic!

Pretty young woman with arms raised standing on beach

We must rediscover the distinction between hope and expectation – Ivan Illich

Yes, I know it’s a big ask to marry up the attention grabbing title (you’re curious and reading aren’t you?) and this quote from the masters. What could they possibly have in common?

I have been away from blogging for a few days because I discovered on Pinterest a board called Tips (one of many no doubt) and magically if you click on any website named at the bottom of the image, it takes you directly to the actual information. I am sure everyone knew that but I assumed it would take you to the website mentioned and then you would have Buckley’s chance of finding the solution promised. Wrong. And there went even more hours of my life.

So for the last few days I have been tweaking my life, my home and my body. I have had fun tweaking my saucepan lids into submission, making homemade make up remover wipes, repairing reading glasses and generally improving my life in a myriad of ways. (Plus I fixed two leaking loos for 75c and 60c respectively, YAY!)

But here’s where the quote comes in. I hope these tips and instructions will actually work. I hope my life will be all the better for having discovered them and having spent so much time on them. I hope I will have the answers to all my small problems in life if I just keep looking. But do I expect everything will turn out perfectly? Do I expect they will all work, my time is being wisely spent and I will become this superwoman/goddess of beauty and domesticity eventually? Not really.

Maid

I will continue though because the fun is in the tweaking. Small victories, new ideas, opening yourself up to a chance of improvement. That’s where the excitement is. I never know what I am going to improve next. We all tweak I am sure. Being totally sexist here, do guys tweak their cars to run better, or tweak their weight training for that extra bit of muscle? Don’t we tweak our recipes to make them exactly how we like? Tweaking is fun! It says I have ideas or knowledge, I am original, I can improve things and change my life for the better. I can get a small part of my life organised even while the rest may be going to sh… I am in charge, I am in control and things are only getting better while I focus on making them so.

So do we expect life will bed a bed of roses until we leave this mortal coil? You can’t tweak a loss, or a car accident or a major life event. We can only tweak how we react to them. Take a deep breath, perhaps. Repeat “it’s only money, only a number on my bank statement” or whatever else may calm you in certain situations. How about ‘this too shall pass’ or ‘when one door closes…’?

Anyway I will tweak away, enjoy my journey of discovery, my small victories and improvements, the good feeling of hoping I am in control of something, anything, while I expect that I am probably not the master of anything at all. But who cares? Today I am merry, the best there is.

And if you now have the song in your head from which I so blatantly borrowed the title, I apologise but go dance!

Dance away

 

10 thoughts on “Le Tweak, C’est Chic!

  1. Pingback: Le Tweak, C’est Chic! | Ta hendene til din kjære – se på dem og hold dem hardt Disse hendene skal du følge, leie og lede. Du skal få føle på varmen fra dem og kjenne en inderlig glede. De skal stryke deg og de skal holde rundt deg – de er

    • Tweaking is a work of art and creativity, now you mention it 🙂 Kids are so pure; they capture emotions beautifully don’t they? Heart on their sleeves (like us 🙂 )
      Thanks

  2. Three strikingly different pictures you have there! The center one reminds me of trying to get our maid in Thailand to literally sweep dirt under a throw rug in the kitchen. She wouldn’t do it, but it did make her laugh. (And no, she looked nothing like that.)

    You very much hit the nail on the head, basically saying that the journey toward growth and betterment is an end in itself, fun and fulfilling while doing. Since most of the time is spent getting there, why not embrace the ride?

    You did inadvertently jog a bad memory in me. “Tweaking” used to be a term used to describe being high on PCP. Thankfully I grew out of my misspent youth and tweaked that sort of “tweaking” out of my life.

    • Yes, they are different pictures aren’t they, now you mention it! I had a stunning Ethiopian maid in Egypt and she looked nothing like that either. Great story.
      I have to remind myself over and over that I am doing each task in life for the fun of it now and not the enjoyment later. It does cheer me up when I remember.
      I had no idea of the other use of the word Tweaking. Your misspent youth surprises me 🙂 Mine was misspent in a very different way, which I am not game to mention here 🙂

  3. Great post Emma! Question: How does one ‘make homemade make up remover wipes’, or ‘repair reading glasses’? Just asking! And because the info would be REALLY helpful! A link will do!

Comments are closed.