Don’t interrupt me, I’m on a roll!

Headphones

It’s pretty hard to be efficient without being obnoxious – KIN HUBBARD

Obnoxious. Even the word sounds obnoxious, like onomatopoeia or something. This is so true isn’t it?

At the moment I’m efficient. I have almost reached my diet goal, my house is looking less cluttered and fresh, my ironing is up to date. Yada, yada, yada. I start my day with a run and I am even today blogging before work again (yay) now that the clocks have changed and it’s lighter in the morning, my favourite time.

So why am I obnoxious? I called my sister in London and cut the call short (45 minutes, in my defence) to get my morning started. I should mention though that she has just completed ‘the works’ in terms of breast cancer treatment over the last few months 😦 and we don’t speak often enough.

At work I guess this quote pans out also. As a customer service consultant I start every call with ‘how are you going?’ and my callers also ask me how I am too most of the time. This is hardly efficient and I used not to do it but I realise it’s a good way to build rapport, just by showing that you are spending those extra few seconds exchanging pleasantries and I like to vary my response when they ask me from ‘Great!’ to ‘Excellent!’. I even tell the full truth sometimes! My colleague usually says ‘I’m so well, it’s scary’ which always raises a laugh with the rest of us. There is always a way to inject your personality. Have you ever said ‘Fine thanks’ when they didn’t even ask you, or worse, had them do that to you, so you feel you should make them feel less stupid? We have so many laughs at work on the phone! I do love my job.

Anyway I digress. At work, the less ‘popular’ people are the more efficient ones it seems. They don’t always reply to your emails or your calls, or make conversation at the coffee machine. Basically they don’t take time to connect, which is what life is all about to me. 

How else can we be obnoxious? Cut in front of someone else’s car while driving, not give way when someone has clearly been waiting a long time, steal someone’s parking spot, why don’t you? Leave the toilet (or anywhere used by others) in a mess. Tell your kids not to even talk to you while you are blogging?  (oops!) All my examples seem to involve time and being efficient which proves this quote.

So are you going to be efficient or obnoxious today? Will you take an extra few seconds of your day to ‘give’ to someone else? Will you be a little more considerate on the roads, or take the extra time to clean up after yourself?  Will you dress or behave in an inoffensive way, thinking of the good of all or will you be on your own little mission?

Better still, will you realise that most people aren’t actually obnoxious, they are just caught up in their heads, thinking that they have to be perfect, do everything to the absolute best of their ability and that the race to the end is what counts? A kind word to someone so ‘efficient’ may make a big difference and release them perhaps.

time to do it right

And because I’d rather end with a picture, how could you ever look obnoxious doing this?

smell the roses

6 thoughts on “Don’t interrupt me, I’m on a roll!

  1. You’re smug as a bug Emma, and I’m all cross! I’m getting fitter these days for the Camino walk, but the ironing piles up because of it, and nobody gets a decent dinner…so I suppose THAT’S a bit obnoxious? Oh good. I’m getting there!

    • That walk will be life changing. Bugger the ironing and dinner! It’s interesting to hear what ‘gives’ first for people. For me it’s cooking, ironing and exercising that get abandoned but like you I have the motivation to exercise just now, for another 9 days. When is your walk?

      • I’m all booked up for May. so its all systems go! I’m a slowcoach so will probably do it in eight weeks, with a few stopovers along the way. I’ll blog about it before I leave just to give some idea what its about. Hopefully, if I’m not too knackered, will blog about it along the way too. Maybe.

        • Yay, can’t wait. I will be there with you in spirit at least! I’ll go get the movie in the week before you go and watch it again 🙂 I wonder what the accommodation will be like? So exciting!

  2. Years ago my mother used to say to me, she’d say, “In this world, Elwood, you must be,” — she always called me Elwood — “In this world, you must be oh so smart, or oh so pleasant.” Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. You may quote me.

    James Stewart as Elwood P. Dowd in the movie HARVEY

    • How appropriate Elwood! May I call you Elwood? 🙂 and how pleasant of you to take the time to comment. It obviously worked because here you are. Thanks. I will look it up. Emma

Comments are closed.