Where will you be at 103?

dont compare your beginning to someone else's middle

I could have just used the quote ‘Don’t compare’ and stopped there. Using comparison is a natural way of learning so it sticks with us but it can paralyse us also if we feel insecure and therefore feel a yearning to compete. I once read that the Amish people made incredibly beautiful things because they couldn’t see what else there was in the world and be intimidated by it. So they worked on their own styles, developing their beginnings into middles.

When I started blogging I was afraid to read others’ blogs because I knew I would be intimidated. But I had missed the whole point and therein lay my lesson. Not that my outpourings suck and that I am quite immature compared to other bloggers but that it was needless to compare my beginnings to their middles and of course I could learn so much from other bloggers, like having lots of wise aunties and grandparents, or creative and fun young people around to converse with.

How is your middle looking? Are you a newborn, child, teenager, young adult or oldie in this world of blogging? Have you started just the one, focused blog or had ten previous ones which fell by the wayside as you tried to work out who you were or what you really wanted to write about?

It doesn’t matter what you’ve posted on your blog or where you are now. And nothing you’ve posted in the past needs editing. If you’re blogging, you’re moving. Moving into yourself, taking detours, learning, growing, surprising yourself and learning more than you ever could about life, than from a book or a lecture or a wise person. Writing your blogs teaches you more than reading them. It teaches me about myself, my insecurities, my strengths, on good days anyway, and what I am capable of bearing in feedback from others. It teaches me to keep going, try things anyway, let go of the external outcomes and focus on the internal ones.

Spending time at the computer may seem like a waste but the world is right there at your fingertips. A world of thoughts, images and ideas, memory joggers and fresh views. And as you seek out like minded people or even completely different people if you want something completely new every day, you are still becoming more you. It’s like a case of ‘I’ll know it when I see it’ because you don’t know what you are looking for but this is a much faster way to see it.

So how are your beginnings looking? I feel like I begin anew every day. I have no clue what I will write about. Sometimes what I find inside makes sense to me and sometimes it seems to make more sense to others. Perhaps I am helping you become more you when something I write reinforces a belief of yours, or jogs your memory, or best of all, makes you curious and question your own beliefs.

So to all you curious bloggers out there, enjoy your beginnings, be proud of your middles and may we all end up together, still blogging until we have to blog in whatever way we can. I will try voice recognition software one day! May I get to blog about incontinence and retirement and dating the only centenarian for miles. Or maybe make up stories and live in a fantasy world completely removed from the trappings of being 90.

That would be an awesome way to spend my ‘old’ age! Surrounded by a world of friends of all types and ages on the internet, I can continue to evolve and become the real me. Might take me till I’m 103…..

Will you still be at it?

5 thoughts on “Where will you be at 103?

  1. What a great post, Emma! The comparisons and insecurities are ridiculous when you look at it, because in the grand scheme of things what is a ‘good writer’ anyway? You are right when you suggest that at the end of the day it is just about expressing our truth, and learning from ourselves. If we put ourselves right in that spot of self-teaching, we can measure ourselves as being in all places all at once, beginning, middle and end!

  2. Heehee we were commenting on each other and blogging at the same time. Thanks Yaz. If anything your blog intimidated me the most, in the nicest possible way!
    I love the idea of time all happening at once. I hadn’t really thought of it with blogging and learning – you came up with it. πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome post, everything you said it so true πŸ™‚ When it comes to writing in English, I am definitely no Shakespeare but I write what I feel at that moment and as if I am talking to my best friends πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. We are your best friends Sarah Jane! I forget of course that you are brilliantly bilingual by the way!! I heard that it’s easier for strangers to help you with your dreams than your loved ones, because strangers don’t want or need anything from you. There is no hidden agenda, just a will to help. I love that about bloggers. Anything is possible.

      • You are :). However I don’t think I am brilliantly bilingual, I have to improve my written English but I will get there someday πŸ™‚ Blogging has really helped me a lot. I feel very happy when I blog it is like talking to my best friends. xx

Comments are closed.