Great Minds think Alone

Great minds think alone

What an excellent twist to ‘Great Minds think Alike’. Only our egos quote the alike one when we want to pat ourselves on the back and form connections with other people so that we don’t feel so alone. So this is kind of the opposite!

How much time do bloggers spend alone? I assume it’s a lot, seeing as we are artists. I LOVE MY ALONE TIME. I had to shout it in capitals, sorry. I bet you love being alone too. Ever tried blogging with someone there talking to you? Impossible.

Being alone with your thoughts is nourishing. Personality tests describe me as an extreme extrovert. Nothing introverted about me. Anything to get attention!! But I need a good deal of time to potter. It’s my favourite thing. Absolute freedom to do what I feel like, when I feel like it – either hopping from thing to thing or deep in thought on one thing for hours.

Do you start to come unhinged if you don’t get alone time now and then? On a similar tack, I once read how important it is to also get a dose of nature regularly – be it fields, water, trees. Best to surround yourself completely if you can. And how many other people will you find in that nature? Not so many usually. The city on the other hand attracts people, coats them in concrete and other hard surfaces and gobbles them up. Dare I say it also spits them out? They head to parks and beaches and out into the country from time to time but they may not realise why; that their soul needs it. I’ve been there.

So how calming is it to get into nature and be alone? How long would you want with nothing interesting to occupy your mind? A minute, an hour, a day? A month in a cave watching spiders?

All Alone

I find this photo very calming. Not only do I love the colour of the water but imagine looking up and seeing those snow covered rocky mountains. It shows us how unimportant we really are in the grand scheme of things; how our troubles are nothing but unhappiness derived from the ego.

I hope we can all get a dose of this over the holiday season. Stillness in the frenzy, calm in the eye of the storm; even if we have to stay up late and watch the stars alone to do it. That’s when the magic of Christmas comes flooding in for me.

Healthy to spend time alone

9 thoughts on “Great Minds think Alone

  1. Alone time is important to contemplation and self analysis and I enjoy mine. Sadly, some people have a hard time enjoying their own company… it’s an important practice to learn.

  2. ΒΈ.β€’*Β¨*β€’.β™ͺβ™«β™«β™ͺHappy Holidays to You & Yours!.β™ͺβ™«β€’*Β¨*β€’.ΒΈΒΈ β™₯
    Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.β˜…β˜….β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœβ€ β™₯ Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.β˜…β˜….β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœβ€
    Eliz

    • Recharging is vital isn’t it? I always used to say that the biggest bonus of divorce is that little window of alone time every two weeks, once you get used to it! My friends were quite envious πŸ™‚

  3. This was such a great post! I really have grown to enjoy my alone time over the years. The older I get, I covet it! My husband always has to be planning and going and moving and shaking and volunteering and being part of something and it is exhausting for me. I hate that I am made to feel that I am depressed or an introvert when I just need my writing space.
    We live in a community that is beautiful. Up by a lake. People come HERE for their vacations. My husband came here as a little boy for his. But it is 12 miles from town. So I like to plan my outiings accordingly. With gas prices the way they are and working 40 hours a week, I need my staying put time!!! I too am what people would probably refer to as an extrover. I am ON a lot of the time I am out and about and I am told I am fun… people seek me out as their friend etc… so why wouldn’t I enjoy time alone? Time to meditate with God? I like to walk by myself, work out by myself, shop by myself and I have been known to be just fine having lunch all alone without feeling people are feeling sorry for me because I am alone. I KNOW that I don’t have to be alone and that’s all that matters to me. I love my friends and make a lot of plans with them but when I want to be alone… I resent having to feel that I have to explain it…
    Okay can you tell that this subject is sensitive? GREAT post! Thank you for letting me vent! I loved every word you wrote!

    • Oh wow Diane. We really are alike. I live by Pittwater, which is a holiday spot, kind of like a lake but attached to the sea. I don’t like to leave home at weekends and relish that I don’t have a great social life. It used to bother me but I realise I don’t cultivate one on purpose. I just host the odd lunch or dinner when I feel sociable and want to give. My boyfriend is so similar luckily and we don’t even catch up that often and when we do, we sometimes have completely silent dates, like no sign language even. My 3 kids give me enough fun, chats and noise. I wonder how you can convey to your busy husband that it is necessary to your very soul and psyche to be alone a lot. Does he have a way to keep himself busy? Thanks so much for your enthusiasm. I love that you totally understand and we are so alike. Is it common to writers?? Highs and lows, noise and quiet, plenty of quiet………… Extroverted and introverted, all at the same time?? πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.