Losing perspective

Hold no point of view and no perspective and then and only then, you’re right – Julien Matei

http://julienmatei.com/2012/11/06/freedom-3/

This is by one of my favourite bloggers; Julien Matei, a gifted man who is using his gifts to share the light he generated to find his way out of his own darkness – the darkness we all have in our shadows. Actually I think that can be said of many artists – writers, bloggers, painters. We had the strength to shine a light when one was needed instead of curling up in the shadows. The light was so bright that it remained when its job was done. And on it shines!

Julien’s simple post reminds me of the need to regularly examine or clear my story; my perspective on life. First I had to become aware that I even had a perspective, a filter, a paradigm. Once I knew it existed, I could examine it. It’s impossible to work with the ‘unknown invisible’. I talk about this often. It’s like needing to see that you have a ‘problem’ before you can free yourself from it. In the same way we might go from doctor to doctor to validate something we cannot see but we are feeling the negative effects of, we can investigate the cause and not just relieve the symptoms of what’s not working, in our minds and in our lives.

Buddhism describes this holding no perspective as ‘Accept what is’. To accept something you would see it through a neutral lens You would observe as dispassionately as if you were watching a fictional movie. My counsellor taught me that if someone was upsetting me – I mean if I was letting someone get to me, then until I developed clear thinking skills, I could imagine a TV screen around that person’s head as they were talking to me. I had to separate myself, unhook my ego I suppose, so that I did not take the words personally and hook them onto my fragile self. That person could be saying those things to someone else and it would not create the same depth of feeling in them or in me. I created that upset and I had to see it. If I had no perspective, I would have been ‘right’ or at least unperturbed.

We do not need to be ‘right’ to live a happy life. We need to accept it’s OK to be wrong. Acceptance is everything. The wisdom I have been drawn to write about in these blogs is all along the same theme. Nothing is really new but it is like a field of understanding, a flavoursome soup in which I now like to swim. I even add my own croutons.

I like to think of this soup as being validated by Quantum physics. I don’t know enough but I have recently heard of Neutrinos which can even pass through the body. This ‘energy’ around us can actually be seen and measured. So exciting!

Anyway I digress. Thanks Julien for reminding me to drop my preconceived notions as much as I can. Your rays are much appreciated.

Watch out fellow bloggers. Your turn tomorrow!

 

10 thoughts on “Losing perspective

  1. Brilliant article. Emma, please find time for Byron Katie. It will amaze you, disengage you from those emotional wrenches even more. I can see from what you write that you’ll love her approach. There are loads of videos out on the internet too, but read the books first. Thanks for a good read again! Lots of love.

  2. Thanks Yaz. And you’re on! I will check out Byron Katie tonight. I have heard her name but not yet read anything of hers. If you like her, so will I.

  3. What shall I say other that your words deeply touched me:

    “Julien Matei, a gifted man who is using his gifts to share the light he generated to find his way out of his own darkness – the darkness we all have in our shadows.”

    So did the whole of your post.

    “We do not need to be ‘right’ to live a happy life” you say… – the outrageous point is that we don´t need to be anything at all to live a happy life.

    Everything is about our very outlook at life which moulds our story…

  4. Smiling you from stopping Julien. Det forstar jag helt! Makes perfect sense. When bloggers smile at me with likes and comments, I could go forever, wherever, var som helst. Du ar for duktig. Kramar

Comments are closed.