Marketing your truth

People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care – Benjamin J Harvey

I assume this is something you and I must be needing to hear or we wouldn’t be reading it or bothering to decipher the quote. We love to explore or we wouldn’t be here. We are explorers! Our purpose for blogging is to know ourselves, whether we realise it or not. It’s a channel for our voice within, a bit like in that book ‘Conversations with God‘ where the writer swore the answers came from somewhere else outside him, or The Abrahams talks, where you watch this lady speak with a slightly different accent and saying ‘you see’ a lot when she is ‘inhabited’ by the universe or something. Fascinating actually. I liked it. But then I like most things because I am easily pleased, especially by the fact that I am easily pleased (no, that repeat is not a typo).

Anyway I digress – and so soon! I think salesmen use this tool – ‘You have to sell yourself before you can sell your product’. One hopes they are genuine when they do that. We like to think we can see through the ‘shoddy salesman in the cheap suit’ but what a daft thing to judge people by. Look past the damn suit I say! There are plenty of rich souls wrapped in poor clothing.

I work in customer service so every time I get a marketing blog from Seth Godin on the subject, I get all excited. This week he came out with two thoughts on customer service which are basically the same as this quote. He said that The simplest customer service frustration question of all is “Why isn’t this as important to you as it is to me?” – you can click on the link but that’s all there is.

I hadn’t thought about it that way – but then Seth could extract meaning from white noise! I care a load, which is why I love my job. I care and yet I keep a little distance when someone is angry, so that I still want to help them instead of getting soaked in their personal storm. And that’s the difference. You have to still want to help them. They can tell. The other thing Seth came out with was that ‘The only point of customer service is to change feelings. The feelings are all that matter, and changing feelings takes humanity and connection, not cash’. He says that if at the end of the interaction the customer would recommend you to someone and he now feels the same way about your organisation before you let him down, you are a success.

And that’s where bloggers come in. With the immense humanity and connection amongst the communities we create, we change everyone’s feelings. We are a universal support group. We are not freaks, we are not alone, others get us. A hundred tiny bonds – a like here, a comment there and the gift of a follower add up and create an energy. Someone said to me today – Yes blogging is HUGE now. Well I jumped in to the Huge and was surprised to find myself bobbing, floating, buoyed up by the lightness in me, in the sea of good feeling.

I see on my stats that many people like to read the ‘About me’. Do they want to know how much I care? Have I expressed what I’m about? I will have to reread it. It wasn’t my point when I wrote it. I dared to put it all on the line though, to risk sounding like a do-gooder. I am my truth here online, my soul-me, invisible to the friends who don’t know me and transparent and vulnerable to the world. But I have never felt less vulnerable. My biggest weakness is my biggest strength it appears.

What ‘About You’ ?

2 thoughts on “Marketing your truth

  1. Yes, we go straight to ‘about me’ because, as you say, we want to know if we’re dealing with a heart and a soul, we want to know if we’re safe here, what we have in common, if the differences will be hurtful. Thanks for a good read with depth.

  2. Yes! Thanks Yaz. I hadn’t worked out that we want to know if we are safe. It seems so obvious now. I didn’t realise that I was screening for safety by reading About Me. I wonder if there is a blog about the bloggers themselves? A collection of all the ‘About Me’ s with links? There should at least be a British TV programme about bloggers’ home lives with interesting characters and something to teach the public. Thanks for inspiring me, yet again.

Comments are closed.